Municipal elections were held last week, but were just the start of the 2016 election year—March 8 was the day candidates for county and state legislature threw their names in the hat.

In Torrance County, four people are seeking the county commission District 3 seat currently held by LeRoy Candelaria.

Candelaria is seeking another term, and will face challenger Edwina “George” Hewett in the Republican primary election in June. Two Democrats, Javier Sanchez and Ivan Riley, are also seeking the seat, and will face off in the primary.

Also in Torrance County, current County Clerk Linda Jaramillo is seeking another term, and will be unopposed in the primary.

Three people are seeking to become the Torrance County Treasurer: Wilson Myrick, Margarita Hibbs and Tracy Sedillo.

In Santa Fe County, six people are running for two open county commission seats. The District 3 seat representing the southern part of the county is not up this year. Likewise in Bernalillo County, where the seat including the East Mountains is not up for election this year.

Candidates for the state senate District 39 seat abruptly vacated by Phil Griego during last year’s legislative session include Ted Barela, who was appointed to the position by Gov. Susana Martinez.

Barela is the only Republican in the race.

Five Democrats will face off in June: former Santa Fe County Commissioner Mike Anaya; Liz Stefanics, another Santa Fe County commissioner; Hugh Ley and Ambrose Castellano.

Another seat in the Senate, the District 19 position vacated by the retirement of Sue Wilson Beffort, has several candidates. Democrats Harold Murphree faces no opposition in his party in the primary, while four Republicans are seeking the seat: James P. White, James Roger Wilder, Anthony Linn Thornton and Herb A. Gadberry.

In the House of Representatives District 22 race, incumbent Jim Smith, a Republican will face Democratic challenger John Wallace in the general election.

In the District 50 race, incumbent Matthew McQueen, a Democrate, will face fellow Democrat Andrew Homer in the June primary. Republican Jeremy Tremko is the only Republican to seek the seat.