With unofficial results posted Tuesday evening, Edgewood will get a new mayor, John Bassett, but Tijeras will keep its incumbent, Mayor Gloria Chavez.

Moriarty had no contested races, and will retain three city councilors and its municipal judge.

Estancia will have a new face on its board of trustees, while Willard will keep its incumbents.


Turnout in Edgewood was 19 percent, with 514 out of more than 2,700 registered voters making their wishes known at the ballot box.

Bassett got 340 votes, while Hill got 173, a 2:1 margin.

Town clerk Estefanie Muller said 335 people voted today, with 179 early and absentee ballots cast. That number could change with the official canvass, she said, because one voter switched from absentee to in-person on Election Day.

“I’m grateful for the support of the people I got, grateful to Mayor Hill for his gracious call to me there, and I look forward to getting into the job,” Bassett said Tuesday evening. “Thank you to all the people that helped me, voted for me and supported me.”

Incumbent councilor John Abrams got 342 votes in an uncontested race, and fellow councilor Sherry Abraham got 333 votes. Municipal Judge Bill White got 428 votes in another uncontested race.


Mountainair voters decisively rejected two incumbents in favor of political newcomers.

The town has 617 registered voters, according to town clerk Suzan Brazil. Of those, 253 cast ballots, for a 41 percent voter turnout.

Incumbents Barbara Chung and George Immawahr got 72 votes each, or 28 percent, and will not get another term on the town council.

Challengers Peter Nieto got 124 votes for 49 percent; Adrian Padilla got 115 votes, or 45 percent; Michael Hays got 72 votes, or 28 percent; and Ed von Kutzleben got 48 votes, or 19 percent. The two highest vote-getters will be seated on the council, meaning Nieto and Padilla.

“I am humbled and grateful to the residents of Mountainair. It is clear people in this town want a brighter future,” Nieto wrote to The Independent when asked for a comment Tuesday evening. “We have some catching up to do, however we are bringing Mountainair full force into the 21st century! Thank you!”


In Tijeras, all three incumbents won another term. Mayor Gloria Chavez got 98 votes while challenger Felix Garcia picked up 92 votes.

Don Johnson got 132 votes, Maxine Wilson got 113 votes, and challenger Tina King got 81 votes. Johnson and Wilson will each get another term, while King, who formerly served on the village council, will not.

The Tijeras village clerk did not provide the total number of voters as requested in her unofficial report.


In Willard, 78 voters cast a ballot out of 180 registered, for a 43 percent turnout.

Incumbents Lorine Mendez and Ricardo Garcia got 62 and 55 votes, respectively, and will serve another term on the village council. Marina Garley got 31 votes.


In Moriarty, three city councilors and the municipal judge ran uncontested races.

Dennis Shanfeldt got 33 votes for a 2-year city council term, while Bobby Ortiz got 32 votes and Steve Anaya got 34 votes for a 4-year term.

Municipal judge Dorothy Encinias got 29 votes to retain her position.