Those who will be 18 years old by the November General Election are eligible to register to vote now, and can vote in the Primary Election June 7 if they register to vote by May 10.

New Mexico’s primaries are closed, meaning that in order to vote in that race, a person must be registered either Republican or Democrat.

In addition to the races at the top of the ballot, including the race for President of the United States, the primary election could decide some local races.

Several candidates are vying for seats in the state Legislature, and the Torrance County Commission District 3 race has several contenders, too.

Incumbent commissioner LeRoy Candelaria is facing challenges from fellow Republican Edwina Hewett, along with two Democrats, Javier Sanchez and Ivan Riley.

The Torrance County Treasurer’s race is contested, with Democrats Margarita Hibbs and Wilson Myrick facing off in the primary; Tracy Sedillo is unopposed in the primary election and will face the winner of the Democrats’ race in November.

The Torrance County Clerk, Republican Linda Jaramillo, is unopposed in her bid for re-election to the position.

The state Senate’s District 39 seat—formerly held by the embattled Phil Griego, who is facing charges of fraud, perjury, tampering with public records, bribery and violation of ethical principles of public service, according to his file at—is heavily contested.

Former Estancia Mayor Ted Barela was appointed by Gov. Susana Martinez to fill out the remainder of Griego’s term. The Republican Barela is unopposed in the primary but is being challenged for the position by four Demcrats: Mike Anaya, formerly Santa Fe County Commissioner; Liz Stefanics, a Santa Fe County Commissioner who previously held the seat; Hugh Ley and Ambrose Castellano.

Likewise, the state Reprentative District 50 seat is being sought by two Democrats and two Republicans, incumbent Matthew McQueen is being challenged by Andrew Homer, fellow Democrat. Jeremy Tremko is a Moriarty Republican running for the seat after a signature petition.

Prospective voters can still register after the May 10 deadline, but they would not be able to vote in the primary.

Early voting and alternate site voting starts May 21 and runs through June 4.

Absentee ballots can still be requested for the Primary Election, too. Contact your county clerk for details on absentee voting.

Santa Fe County Clerk Geraldine Salazar can be reached at 505-986-6280 or Or visit the county’s website at

Torrance County Clerk Linda Jaramillo can be reached at 505-544-4350 or, or by visiting

Bernalillo County Clerk Maggie Toulouse-Oliver can be reached at 505-243-8683 or or by visiting the county’s website at